Library Hours:

Mon.-Thurs. 9:30am-9:00pm
Fri. 9:30am-5:00pm
Sat. 10:00am-4:00pm
Sun. 1:00pm-4:00pm

973.377.2694

107 Ridgedale Avenue
Florham Park, NJ 07932
reference@florhamparklib.org

News


Page 1 of 3123

Friday Reads: New Must-Read Thriller

Ill Will by Dan Chaon I just started reading this book and I am Hooked. Dustin is a 40 something psychologist who’s world is about to come undone. The adopted brother convicted of killing their parents decades ago has just been released because of DNA evidence. Meanwhile, young men are “drinking and drowning”. Is there a serial killer at work? One of his patients, a former cop, thinks so and wants Dustin to help him look into the deaths. AND Dustin’s son is starting to hang out with his just released adopted brother! Joan Hipp    

Read More »

Myth As Told By Gaiman

      On February 7th, 2017, the newest Neil Gaiman novel hit the shelves. Norse Mythology is Gaiman’s own take on the myths that shaped his previous works. Gaiman weaves myths of Odin, Thor, and Loki into an exciting novel. Gaiman’s witty prose shines a new light onto the Gods, one separate from that of Marvel’s comics and movies. Gaiman adds a new life to these Norse myths capturing the God’s competitive nature, gullibility, and impulsive passions. Gaiman’s best-known novels include American Gods, The Graveyard Book and The Ocean at the End of the Lane. Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman is now available at the library. Click here to place a hold!

Read More »

Tech Corner: Let’s Get Creative

Adobe is known mostly for their computer products but the company has now made their way to your device with their free apps (with in-app purchases available). These apps make it easy for the creative minded or those who wish to become more inclined to sketch, edit or create creative photos at the tips of your fingers. As always, we are here if you have any questions or need help! (All apps are available free for both Apple and Android devices). Adobe Draw & Adobe Sketch:  These apps make it easy to become a digital artist. Adobe Draw includes tools that are more classic while Sketch has tools geared more towards those who sketch would use.  The format is simple and the tutorial reminds you how easy and user-friendly Adobe can be.  The app is minimalist and does not feel overwhelming. Also everything you need to change size and color is all in one place. Photoshop Mix & PS Express Photoshop Mix is a great app for those who love to create digital content and interesting photos. The app allows the user to do things such as merge photos to create new, fascinating ones.  With the other unique techniques from Photoshop, the possibilities are endless. PS Express allows the user to preform basic Photoshop techniques for free to their mobile pictures….

Read More »

Friday Reads: Victoria

Sunday, January 15th, PBS Masterpiece theater will be premiering their new show, Victoria. Bringing to your screens the early life of England’s second-longest reigning monarch. If you’re a fan of Downton Abbey or The Crown, this show is bound to appeal to your love of high-class dramatics. To get you ready for Sunday’s premiere, here are two books about Queen Victoria, packed full of epic balls, beautiful costumes and of course, romance. Goodwin is a creator/writer for the show so you know that the screen translation will (hopefully) live up to its literary inspiration. The book, just like the show, follows Alexandria Victoria as she first becomes Queen focusing on her passionate courtship with Prince Albert and her early years as Queen in it’s freshman season. This novel is perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and those who enjoyed Goodwin’s previous novels. A perfect blend of Goodwin’s gift for history and drama mixed with anecdotes from Victoria’s personal diary, you can be sure that the show will be just as enjoyable as the novel and vise versa!   If of course, you want a more accurate account of the life of one of England’s most esteemed monarch’s, picking up her biography is the thing for you. Baird uses previously unpublished writings to help build the world of this beloved Queen and delve more deeply…

Read More »

Is Your Phone a Mini Librarian?

It’s no surprise that owning a smartphone means having a tiny computer in your pocket but did you know your phone can be a mini-librarian? That is of course, if you download the right apps. These 4 apps will help your phone turn into a handy dandy librarian whenever you need one. All apps mentioned are free to download for both IOS and Android devices! Merriam -Webster Dictionary: Okay, this one may seem pretty obvious, but if you do not want to be someone who relies on autocorrect for spelling this app is a must. With talk to text technology, you don’t even have to attempt to spell the word you are looking for. Just simply say the word and the app will do all the hard work. Also, having a dictionary app at the ready is great for those times you stumble across a word while reading. Always wanted to build up your vocab? The app has built in vocab quizzes and word of the day to help expand your command of language. NPR News or BBC News or (any news outlet you trust app): In today’s world, it is hard to always know what is real and what is fake news. It’s also always a good thing to have your finger on what is going on in the…

Read More »

Friday Reads – Short Novels

January is a month of resolutions and new starts. Reading more always seems to be a popular resolution but managing to squeeze in that reading time can sometimes seem impossible. Here are some one day reads to reach that goal of reading more in 2017! Dept. of Speculation by Jenny Offill Dept. of Speculation is a series of short dispatches from the front line of a marriage. It is by turns hilarious and heartbreaking and often both in the same sentence. (Buzzfeed) Animal Farm by George Orwell Orwell’s classic allegory is as sharp and biting as it was when first published nearly 70 years ago, and just as relevant. Well worth a reread. (Buzzfeed)   The Reluctant Fundamentalist by Mohsin Hamid A book about cultural identity as much as politics, The Reluctant Fundamentalist follows a Princeton-educated Pakistani as his life in America collapses post 9/11. (Buzzfeed) Heartburn by Nora Ephron  In Nora Ephron’s hilarious novel, based on the breakdown of her second marriage, group therapy and infidelity share the page with recipes for pot roast. (Buzzfeed) Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe Achebe’s classic novel follows Okonkwo, a man who finds himself at odds with society and history amid the changing cultural landscape in Nigeria. (Buzzfeed) The Awakening by Kate Chopin  The story of a woman trapped in her marriage was condemned when first…

Read More »

Waiting on It Wednesday for 1/10/17

These are the books we can’t wait to be published next week 1/10/17. Here is a little blurb about each book. If you like it, click the picture to place a hold!   The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden: At the edge of the Russian wilderness, winter lasts most of the year and the snowdrifts grow taller than houses. But Vasilisa doesn’t mind—she spends the winter nights huddled around the embers of a fire with her beloved siblings, listening to her nurse’s fairy tales. Above all, she loves the chilling story of Frost, the blue-eyed winter demon, who appears in the frigid night to claim unwary souls. Wise Russians fear him, her nurse says, and honor the spirits of house and yard and forest that protect their homes from evil. As danger circles, Vasilisa must defy even the people she loves and call on dangerous gifts she has long concealed—this, in order to protect her family from a threat that seems to have stepped from her nurse’s most frightening tales. (goodreads.com) Dry by Jane Harper: When Federal Police investigator Aaron Falk returns to Kiewarra for the funerals, he is loath to confront the people who rejected him twenty years earlier. But when his investigative skills are called on, the facts of the Hadler case start to make him doubt this…

Read More »

Up For the Reading Challenge

2016 seems to have become the year of the reading challenge. More and more it seems people are ditching reading for pleasure and instead reading for a challenge. What exactly is a reading challenge? What does a reading challenge do? Reading challenges are a great way to step outside of the box to discover new authors and genres that may never have crossed a persons path otherwise. These challenges are also a great way to break reading slumps, those times where a book just never really satisfy’s. Here is a list we’ve gathered of the most popular reading challenges available online! We’ve edited some of the tasks to make them a little more library friendly! Also we’ve included a blank document for printing so you can play along at home! Motley Reading Challenge: This is the perfect challenge for those looking to step outside their comfort zone. These 25 tasks help guide the reader to pick books that fit the description instead of just blindly picking books and hoping they are good. The best part? The challenges can be completed in any order. Here is a sample of the first 5 tasks to get the idea. A book with more than 500 pages A book that became a movie A book written by an actor A classic you never got…

Read More »

What we’re reading : Best of 2016!

Here are some of the books we couldn’t stop talking about this year:     Patrons could not get enough of both Moriarty and Whiteheads’ novels this year. Meanwhile, Cooper and his mother’s memoir and Junger’s text about humans stood out in non-fiction. All these great books are available at the library so place your hold today!   2016 also was a stand out year for Young Adult fiction! Some of our favorites include:     Whether it’s the anticipated sequel to a novel or a beloved author’s new series there was a lot of great novels for teens this year. There was also a lot of notable contemporary fiction that also held teens attention. These books as well are available at the library so place your hold today!

Read More »

Renovation Project

The Library is converting a magazine storage area into public space. Thanks to a bequest from Eli Sun we are able to create three small glass walled study rooms. Each room will accommodate  1 to 3 people. We are pleased to be able to offer this additional resource to Florham Park residents. There may be some noisy moments but it will be worth it!

Read More »
Page 1 of 3123